Sunday Night Dinner: Red Peppers

It’s a freezing, rainy Monday morning and as I’m writing this, I’m sitting at home eating a warm homemade bagel with cream cheese and jam.  Perfect start to the week 🙂

IMG_1405

After 2 and a half weeks city-hopping in the US, I’m finally back in France and settling back in in Nice.  I traveled 13,042 miles (roughly) and satisfied my cravings for sushi, Indian food, bagels, Starbucks coffee, Chipotle, sticky buns, French fries, pancakes, Krispy Kremes, and (really good) grilled cheese.  So what better way to get settled in here than to make another Sunday Night Dinner? 🙂

Truth be told, I wasn’t exactly prepared to be making SND this week, but I had a red pepper from the market in my fridge and all the necessary ingredients for stuffed pepper (which I’ve been wanting to try with red instead of green peppers anyways).

IMG_1396

Prep time: 20 min
Cook time: 30 min

(Note: I only made 1 large pepper, but the following recipe is for 4 peppers)

Ingredients:
4 peppers (any color—I really liked the red variety in this one)
½ lb sausage
1 large onion, chopped
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1 zucchini (mushrooms would also be good), cubed
2 cups cooked rice
1 cup tomato sauce
½ cup shredded cheese (I used Emmental, but parmesan or mozzarella would be really good too)

Instructions:

1. Wash the peppers, slice the tops off, and remove the seeds.

2. Brown the sausage in a skillet. Break up the bits of sausage as best as possible with a spatula, so you have small pieces.

IMG_1392

3. Remove the sausage from the skillet (I also removed most of the grease/oil).  Add the garlic, onions, and zucchini to the skillet and sauté for 3-4 minutes.

IMG_1393

4. Add the sausage and cooked rice and sauté for a few more minutes.

5. Add half of the tomato sauce and half of the cheese.

6. Spoon the sausage and rice mixture into the peppers, filling them completely.

IMG_1397

7. Place the peppers in a lightly greased baking dish.  Spoon the remaining tomato sauce over the peppers and sprinkle with the remaining cheese.

IMG_1398

8. Bake in a 425F (220C) oven for 30-40 minutes.


I think this is my favorite stuffed pepper recipe.  Besides being simple and quick, I like the spice of the sausage and the rice to break up the filling a little bit.  Plus, the red pepper was perfect!  I served it with a salad and a glass of wine 🙂

IMG_1399

French word of the day:
glisser (glee-SAY)- to slip
J’ai glissé sur la glace et me suis fait mal.
I slipped on the ice and hurt myself.

Leave a Reply

