Winter Activities

Even though it’s about 55 degrees and sunny everyday here, I’m still finding opportunities to do winter activities.

With the beach and the palm trees and the absence of snow, it’s hard to get into the Christmas spirit, but decorating my apartment has helped 🙂  I just got a little 3 foot tall artificial tree from the store, and a few decorations.  As a little craft project, I decorated my own ornaments!

My little Christmas tree

My little Christmas tree

Window clings

Window clings

Last week, I went to the Christmas market with some of my new friends.  It’s pretty big and impressive for such a small city like Nice.  There’s a small outdoor skating rink, a huge Ferris wheel, and a bunch of booths where vendors are selling everything from art to cheese to churros to toys.  Plus, there are beautiful lights all over the city!

Christmas tree made of little Christmas trees

Christmas tree made of little Christmas trees

Lights over the Christmas market

Lights over the Christmas market

One of the booths at the Christmas market, and a light show on the building behind it!

One of the booths at the Christmas market, and a light show on the building behind it!

Me on the Ferris wheel :)

Me on the Ferris wheel 🙂

A view of the square from the Ferris wheel

A view of the square from the Ferris wheel

I’ve been missing hockey a LOT, both playing and watching (but I guess I’m not missing much back in the US since the NHL is still locked out).  So when I found out there’s a French hockey league (and a team in Nice– the Eagles), going to a hockey game moved to the top of my list.  I went last night with my friend Donna (she’s Canadian, so she loves hockey too!)  They played Toulouse and Nice won 3-2!  It was much, much, MUCH smaller than any professional or semi-professional hockey game I’ve been to in the US—the rink was probably about as big and as full as a high school rink.  But it was still fun!  We were sitting behind some guys who were leading the cheering and had brought a big drum.  And it was only 6 euros to get in!  I’m definitely going to go again!

GO NICE AIGLES!

ALLEZ NICE AIGLES!

Me and Donna

Me and Donna

They won!

They won!

Finally, there was some talk at our expat coffee this morning of a ski trip… so stay tuned for that 🙂

French word of the day:
pantoufle (pahn-TOOFL)- slipper
Quand il fait froid, je me mets mes pantoufles.
When it’s cold, I put on my slippers.

Leave a Reply

