Sunday Night Dinners

I’ve been going to the fruit/vegetable/flower market at least twice a week for the last few weeks. I walk around and look at all the produce and preserves and cheeses and meats and oils and spices and wish I knew how to cook with all of them.

I’ve also taken to planning out my dinners for the week every Sunday. I find that it makes me more likely to actually cook a healthy meal most nights instead of opting for a frozen pizza or pasta. It’s hard to cook for one person, so I usually make dinner 3 times a week and do leftovers the rest of the nights. Since I’m not engaged to a chef, like my sister, I look for recipes online that are conducive to my needs.

So these two situations led me to a new idea: Sunday Night Dinners! My goal is to go to the market on Saturdays and pick one ingredient. It can be anything, familiar or strange, French-based or not. I’ll find a recipe online, make it for dinner on Sunday night, and then share the recipe and let you all know how it turned out. To be clear, this is NOT me making up my own recipe… I’m not that talented.

My first attempt was last week (it didn’t happen on Sunday, but oh well) and I kind of cheated because I had a recipe before I picked the ingredient, which was…… CAULIFLOWER.  Here’s what I did!

The star ingredient

Coconut-Curry Cauliflower and Chick Peas
Prep time: 20 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes

Ingredients

– 2 tsp vegetable oil
– 1 small yellow onion, minced
– 1 carrot, thinly sliced
– 3 cups small cauliflower florets (what you get from 1 small cauliflower)
– 2 tbsp curry powder or paste (I used powder)
– 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, drained
– 1 cup vegetable broth
– 1 (15 ounce) can chick peas, drained and rinsed
– 1 cup frozen peas
– 1 (13 ounce) can unsweetened coconut milk
– 1/2 tsp salt
– black pepper

Instructions

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.

2. Add the onion, cover, and cook until softened (about 5 minutes).

Onions cooking

3. Stir in the carrot, cauliflower, and curry powder to taste.

4. Add the tomatoes and broth, cover, and cook until the vegetables are softened (about 10 minutes).

Carrot, cauliflower, curry, tomatoes

5. Stir in the chick peas, peas, coconut milk, salt, and pepper to taste.

6. Cook uncovered until the flavors are well blended and the mixture thickens slightly (about 10 minutes longer)

YUMMM

7. Serve hot over rice.

Hungry yet?

Whenever I make a rice dish, I like to make double the amount of rice that I need and make fried rice the next day (this time it was shrimp and pineapple fried rice)

The best part about this dish is that it is DELICIOUS. The second best part about this dish is that it’s vegan, so if you’re entertaining and don’t know what to make for a vegan guest, check this out! It’s sure to please everyone. Also, I got the recipe here and it says it makes 4 servings, but they’re actually talking about 4 football players. I ate half of this in 3 nights and froze the other half to eat another time.

I’m really excited for this “project” because it will give me an excuse to keep going back to the market, to explore different fresh ingredients, to discover some of the local French cuisine, and to broaden my limited knowledge of cooking 🙂

And our French word today is:
mijoter (mee-jho-TAY)- to simmer
Le ragoût mijote depuis ce matin.
The ragout has been simmering since this morning.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Night Dinners

Leave a Reply

